April 27, 2019

Dakotas Walk to Emmaus Board Minutes – April 27, 2019

Board Members Present: Steve Eliason, Susan Ehrk, Dale & Peggy Hora, Delmar & Betty Janke, Jeanne Olson, Ron Olson, Scott Rodman, Val & Teresa Rush, Tonya Whitmore, Karl Watkins, Andy & Susie Ryks, Kevin Klare, Mark Larson, Scott & Carmen Nikont.Jeanne Olson, CLD, called the meeting to order.  Pastor Val Rush led the devotional & prayer. Quorum was established.

Treasurer’s report was viewed, discussed, and approved. The final amount to be paid to Inspiration Hills will be determined after all bills have been paid at next board meeting.

Thank you to retiring board members:  Betty & Delmer Janke, Peggy & Dale Hora, Barb & Dean Johnson, Sue Ehrk, Jane & Rick Hazen. Welcome to new board members. New members include: Eric & Lisa Rippentrop, Kevin Klare, Scott & Carmen Nikont, & Val & Teresa Rush.

Reports were distributed and Betty shared results of visits made to retreat sites and information regarding future walk locations, dates, and price information. After discussion, Betty made a motion, which was seconded by Dale, to have a set of Walks at Storm Mountain during October 3-6 for Men’s walk and October 10-17 for Women’s walk. Motion passed. Tonya made a motion, seconded by Susie to set the cost fees at $150.00 per person with a deposit of $50.00 at registration time.

There will be committees who will explore additional options for host sites for upcoming Walks. Steve Eliason will head the Fall committee and Kevin Klare will head the Spring committee.

Sites considered today included Inspiration Hills, Abbey of the Hills, and Storm Mountain.

Tonya reported that the Upper Room is developing a database program which will be free for us to use and will be very use friendly. Scott is willing to help with the setup and maintaining the data.

Susie offered to demonstrate a free electronic computer program for credit card payments through our website at the May meeting that she is familiar with.

Peggy questioned how to handle persons with various needs such as a person who wants to go on the walk but she has a “comfort dog”. Host sites will be asked about their policies and each situation will be evaluated on a one to one basis.

New Business: Sue Ehrk, Lay Director, for Walk #62, requested permission to have Hazel Behrens as Spiritual Director for the Women’s Walk and Betty Janke as Board Rep. Motion was made by Tonya and seconded by Andy to approve both.

Meeting was adjourned with commissioning of Susan Ehrk, Women’s LD and Steve Eliason, Men’s LD. It was followed by prayers and communion. A gathering was held with a potluck lunch enjoyed by all. Speakers for the gathering were Susie Ryks and Scott Rodman.

Next board meeting will be May 18th, at 9:30AM at First UMC, 310 N. Rowley St., Mitchell, SD

Respectfully Submitted,

Betty Janke

DWTE Board Secretary